1 March 2015 | General


ANDREW MIEDECKE has held out Gavin Bullas to win his second race of the Clipsal 500 weekend and seal the Pro Masters class in the opening round of the 2015 ENZED Touring Car Masters.

Cameron Tilley (Valliant Pacer) won the Pro Am class in Adelaide while Tony Hunter won the Pro Sports battle in a competitive weekend of racing in hot conditions at the Adelaide street circuit.

Miedecke wins the inaugural ‘Adelaide Tourist Trophy’ for TCM cars with his victory that came with a comprehensive yet always under-pressure lights to flag win.

The 1969 Chevy Camaro led from the outset in the final race of the weekend though had to withstand constant pressure from Gavin Bullas throughout the race and then in a one-lap dash to the flag following a late-race Safety Car.

A broken wheel pitched Holden Torana driver Carey McMahon into the turn eleven wall on the ninth lap of a scheduled 10 race officials electing to extend the race by one lap to eleven to enable a sprint to the flag once the Safety Car had been withdrawn.

Though Bullas pushed hard on the restart pressure from Abelnica behind ensured he had to defend as much as he could attack and that allowed the Camaro in front to pull away to victory.

It was the Lubrimaxx driver’s second win from three races this weekend and ensured he sealed the Pro Master Class round victory on the home turf of his Adelaide-based Whiteline Transport Racing outfit.

It was the second time in two years that the team – based in the northern suburb of Greenfields – has tasted success at their home circuit with Mark King taking Pro Am class honours at the Clipsal 500 last year.

Bullas finished second in the race and for the round while Eddie Abelnica was third in both the race and the round.

Cameron Tilley finished an outstanding fourth in the final race in his six-cylinder Valliant Pacer spending much of his race duelling with Abelnica and the Mopar Charger of Greg Crick in a battle that lasted the entire race distance.

The tenacious Sydneysider won the Pro Am class ahead of the ever-consistent Brett Youlden (HQ Monaro) and Cameron Mason’s Shelby Mustang.

Crick finished fifth in race three holding out Keith Kassulke and John Bowe – that pair going side-by-side on the final lap in a thrilling battle to scrape into the top six. Jim Richards Youlden and Glenn Seton completed the top-10.

Hunter won two of the three races in the Pro Sports class with Leo Tobin scoring second in class in a TCM-best result for the Monaro driver. Adelaide driver Greg Keene took his Porsche 911 RS to third in class and also won the Clipsal 500 ‘Porsche plate’ as the first of the six 911 entries home this weekend.

The next round of the ENZED Touring Car Masters Series will see the series return to Symmons Plains Raceway in Tasmania for the first time in several years at the end of March.

Every session will again be broadcast live on FOX Sports Motorsport alongside the V8 Supercars Championship coverage.