15 August 2022 | General

Field set as ongoing Super3 battle returns to Sandown

A NEW ZEALAND interloper will join the battle within the Dunlop Super3 Series grid when the series resumes this weekend at the Penrite Sandown SuperSprint in Melbourne. 

Kiwi Jordan Michels will enter the fray, driving an Image Racing-prepared FG Falcon, as he makes his return to Australian motorsport following a two-year Covid-19 enforced pause.

Michels, from Invercargill in the south of New Zealand, will race an ex-Shane Van Gisbergen FG Falcon Supercar and is expected to join a competitive battle for outright honours amidst this weekend’s 16-strong Super3 grid.

Michels arrived in Australia last week and following a test with Image Racing at Winton Raceway last week, raced at Sandown at the weekend in the most recent round of the Victorian Formula Ford Championship – finishing third overall in the Kent class.

He’ll join a competitive fight for this year’s Super3 crown that has teenager Kai Allen holding a small lead over Blake Fardell and Brad Vaughan in the series standings.

Allen, driving for Eggleston Motorsport, has scored five of the six available pole positions this year and claimed four race wins to Vaughan’s pair.

Fardell’s consistency has ensured he has remained in the championship mix; the Mr. HDT Race Cars-backed Holden Commodore driver finishing all bar one race inside the top three (he was fourth in the other) so far this year – aiding his run to second in the standings.

The 16-strong entry list for Sandown marks the largest Super3 / V8 Touring Cars grid since the conclusion of the 2019 season, also at Sandown Raceway. That weekend saw current Red Bull Ampol Racing driver Broc Feeney claim the championship.

Several returning names add to an already competitive field this weekend, including Jason Foley – in his ex-Dick Johnson Racing BF Falcon – and regular contender Brendan Strong.

The Dunlop Super3 Series grid will join the Super2 field for a pair of 22-lap races at Sandown this weekend, both to be broadcast live on Fox Sports 506 and Kayo.

ENTRY LIST: Dunlop Super3 Series, Round 4

2 Super3 Cup Page Bros Jayco Steven Page VIC Commodore VE II
4 Super3 Cup Crusher Parts International Tony Auddino VIC Ford Falcon BF
5 Championship Anderson Motorsport Brad Vaughan SA Ford Falcon FG
7 Super3 Cup Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina NSW Commodore VE
17 Super3 Cup TF Maintenance Jason Foley ACT Ford Falcon BF
23 Super3 Cup RHM/Nulon Ray Hislop TAS Ford Falcon FG
26 Championship Eggleston Motorsport Kai Allen SA Commodore VE
28 Championship Image Racing Jordan Michels NZ Ford Falcon FG
35 Super3 Cup Unit Racing Jason Gomersall QLD Ford Falcon FG
39 Super3 Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG
46 Super3 Cup Turbo Brisbane Jarred Danaher QLD Ford Falcon FG
75 Super3 Cup T.O.C Garages & Verandahs Brendan Strong NSW Commodore VE
76 Super3 Cup Valmont/GHR Garry Hills WA Commodore VE II
77 Championship Mr HDT Race Cars Blake Fardell NSW Commodore VE II
96 Super3 Cup Collins Racing Gary Collins VIC Commodore VE II
219 Super3 Cup Masterton Motorsports James Masterton NSW Commodore VE